Starting my FYP

As I am in the second semester of 3rd year I am doing the module research methods which is teaching us about how to write and research a Final year project (FYP). This daunting as from the minute you start 1st year of college FYP is something that is talked about in a way that it is time-consuming and stressful, it is also worth so much of our final degree. I put in a lot of thought into what I should focus my FYP on as it has to be something I am interested in as I will be researching this topic for 9 months. After a lot of thought, I decided to focus my FYP, “How will the Times Up movement in the media, affect how women and men are portrayed in the media”. I choose this topic as it is a relevant and interesting topic in the news and media in the past year.

I feel as though the Times Up movement is such an issue in the media, that it would be interesting to research what affects it will have on people in the media. I want to research whether the big campaigns, the marches that took place and how celebrities wore black to award shows.I wonder will this movement have any actual impact on how harassment is handled in the media or will it be forgotten about like other news stories in the media that are forgotten about in a few months. I want to find out how the Times Up movement started did it begin when the Harvey Weinstein harassment or was it brewing before than.

It would be interesting to find out if more allegations will come out in the next few months as the movement has already impacted a lot of people such as James Franco and Kevin Spacey. It does look like the movement is beginning to change society in the media, I would like to know what more changes will come with time.

Leave a comment